Citi Field Review

I’ve owed you, my loyal readers, this review for well over a month now, since I took in my first game at Citi Field back on April 19.

Overall, I thought it was a nice ballpark, a huge upgrade over Shea Stadium.  It was very modern, in the whole modern = throwback sense.  I was able to walk into the stadium through the Jackie Robinson Rotunda, which was pretty cool, although when I got to the top of the escalator, I found myself thinking “that’s it?”  I enjoyed the openness of the concourse, but at the same time, I thought it felt a little narrow with the lines for food (My seats were on the main level left field, not sure about the upper decks).  Walking through the concourse, you really had to avoid the lines, or weave through them.  I thought the selection was pretty good and the prices were fair, for a New York ballpark.

In center field, there are a bunch of other food places that sell more than the traditional ballpark fare.  I thought theses lines were ridiculously long and didn’t bother waiting on any of them despite the really interesting menus. I enjoyed the activity area for kids out with these concession stands, there was a dunk tank, a wiffle ball field, and a video game area, among other things.  Unfortunately, baseball is a sometimes boring game and things like this keep the kids entertained and involved in some aspect of the game of baseball.  This kids area is a great way for the Mets to build interest in their team with kids.  I didn’t walk into the any of the team stores because I’m not a Mets fan and I don’t want any of their merchandise.

I was a bit disappointed in the lack of Mets “things” when walking around.  I think any unintelligent person could walk around the concourse just staring at the walls and not have any idea who played in the stadium.  Worse yet, that same unintelligent person could think they were in the Brooklyn Dodgers’ Stadium.  Granted there were Mets banners and pictures of players on the outside of the stadium, but if I were a Mets fan, I’d like to see more of that in the stadium – a celebration of Mets heritage.  I know they’ve only been around since the early 1960s, but they have two World Championships and dozens of fan favorite players, use them more.

As for the game itself, my seats were on the main level in left field and the overhang of the deck above me blocked my view of the scoreboard, which was annoying but even if it didn’t, since it was at such an extreme angle to my left I don’t know how much I’d be able to see anyway.

I think the field is interesting, mainly because of that “cove” out in right field and also because of the bullpens kind of shoved into right-center field, one team’s pen not even visible from the field.

I enjoyed my experience at Citi Field, it’s a really nice place and a nice home for the Mets.  I’d like to see them put more team stuff up on the concourses (the Yankees do this well at New Yankee Stadium; my review of that forthcoming) and the aisles got a bit crowded, but it was a nice place to see a game and there was a good atmosphere.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

