Michael Kay is an Idiot, Part II

Yankee broadcaster Michael Kay must have learned from Part I in this series because I haven’t noticed him saying anything too stupid lately.  Until, that is, this past weekend.

I was at the Yankee game on Saturday (to improve to 1-2 on the season, 2-2 if you count the exhibition) when A-Rod hit a walk-off home run in the bottom of the 11th inning after Mark Teixeira walked to lead off the inning.  I enjoyed myself at the stadium that afternoon and didn’t have to listen to Michael Kay.  Sunday, I was watching the third game of the Yankees/Twins series when A-Rod comes up and Kay says something dumb.  Something to the effect of:

“When Alex was up yesterday in the 11th with Teixeira on first, I said on the broadcast that I think he should bunt Teixeira over.”

Wait…  What?  You want the best hitter on the team (don’t even talk to me about his “clutch” stats) to bunt?  And I suppose since he didn’t go 11-for-10 to start the season, he should be dropped to the bottom of the order?  I mean, really.  There is no reason to have your cleanup hitter bunt…ever.  Kay even continued with this anecdote and added that he talked to A-Rod in the clubouse before Sunday’s game about bunting and Rodriguez admitted that he has bunted only a handful of times in his major league career – when he used to bat 2nd/7th when he came up with Seattle.  Newsflash, Michael.  Alex hasn’t played with the Mariners since 2000 and probably hasn’t hit in those spots in the order since 1994 or 1995.

Great, so not only does Michael Kay want the Yankees cleanup hitter to bunt, but he wants a guy who hasn’t bunted in the big leagues in over 13 years to sacrifice.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

