Don’t Panic

Maybe Nick Swisher would be a good guy to have in the bullpen.

Look.  If I was told the Yankees could only win 18 games in a given season, I’d be lying if I said I didn’t want all 18 of those wins to come against the Boston Red Sox.

But

That doesn’t mean I’m ready to give up on the season, the pithing staff, the lineup, or the bullpen after getting swept by Boston this past weekend.  I don’t like the Yankees getting swept by anyone, especially the Red Sox, but I don’t think the results this weekend are a sign of things to come from the Bronx Bombers.

Actually, I’ve been relatively happy with the “fight” I’ve seen from the lineup.  Aside from the couple of drubbings they’ve suffered this year, the Yanks have been in every game and haven’t really displayed that “I give up” look during the game that I’ve noticed in recent years.  As for the pitching, I think they’ll settle down.  The bullpen has been shaky to say the least, but the Yanks have some decent pitchers back there that will overcome this tough start.  Chien-Ming Wang is too good to get hit like this; once he works out whatever issues he has, I think he’ll be fine.  The highest batting average/on-base percentage/slugging percentage numbers against CC Sabathia over his career come in April.  So no, he’s not a waste (yet).

I am excited for Phil Hughes‘ start on Tuesday.  I really think (or is it hope?) he’s going to be great.  I think back to the roll he was on in Texas two years ago pitching a no-hitter in the 7th inning until he got hurt.  That’s the guy I envision.

It doesn’t help the Yanks that that A-Rod guy hasn’t played in 2009 yet.  So let’s all not rush to judgment on the 2009 Yanks.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

