Andy is Back (and so am I)

Surprise, surprise, Andy Pettitte is back in pinstripes.

In all honesty, I bet when he looked at his other options – which were none – taking the Yankees $10 milion offer didn’t look such a bad deal.  I don’t like how it went down, but I do like that Pettitte is back because he is a much better 3A starter than anyone else in the organization and he adds depth and experience to the rotation.  I say 3A starter because AJ Burnett won’t last through June without a trip to the DL.

So let’s examine the Yankee rotation right now:

  1. CC Sabathia
  2. Chien-Ming Wang
  3. AJ Burnett
  4. Andy Pettitte
  5. Joba Chamberlain
  6. Phil Hughes
  7. Ian Kennedy
  8. Alfredo Aceves

See, that’s what I’m talking about.  If pitching wins championships, I will take that rotation with me into battle anytime.  Sure there are some questions at the back end of the rotation after Pettitte, but it’s better than relying on those guys to be your 3rd or 4th starter.

I like Pettitte’s contract, too.  Only $5.5 guaranteed, so when Hughes starts pitching like he did when he was tossing that no-no in Texas he can jump right in and make Pettitte the 5th starter. Incentives can bump the contract up, but they’re the Yankees, so money isn’t a problem (except when building a stadium).  I think it’s also a big plus to have two lefties in the rotation.

I’m still swamped with the move and with work, so posts will continue to be intermittent for the time being.  I do have plenty to say about Joe Torre’s book and some more comments on free agency, so please stay tuned.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

