My Personal 2008 Yankee Stats Now Available

Let me stop you right there.  Yes, I do (sometimes) have too much time on my hands.

For those frequent readers of Backwards K and for those new to the site, I had a miserable 2008 season at Yankee Stadium in terms of the Yankees’ record.  In 14 games at the Stadium this year, the Bronx Bombers were an abysmal 5-9.

I won my first game, lost NINE IN A ROW, then rebounded for four straight W’s to end the season on a high note.

At baseball games, I really like keeping score and I have compiled my stats for every Yankee to play in a game when I was there and now these stats are available by clicking “NYY 2008 Game Stats” on the right-nav under “Pages” or by clicking HERE.

Some interesting notes:

  • Five different pitchers won games for me.  Only two, Mike Mussina and Joba Chamberlain, were on the opening day roster.
  • Edwar Ramirez, a favorite of mine, had an ERA above 12.00 in 5.2 innings pitched.
  • Andy Pettitte (17 IP) and Joba Chamberlain (10.2 IP) each had 15 strike outs.
  • Mariano Rivera was his typical self, posting an ERA of 1.50 in 6 IP to earn 2 saves.
  • Bobby Abreu led regulars with a .339 batting average in 56 ABs (Matsui hit .391 in 23 ABs).
  • A-Rod hit .200 with 3 of his nine hits being Home Runs.
  • The Giambino was a perfect sample of his season: .244 average and .404 on-base.
  • Abreu and A-Rod tied for the lead with 3 HR each.
  • Derek Jeter grounded into a Yankee “worst” 4 double plays
  • Giambi (13), Abreu (13), Damon (12), and A-Rod (11) struck out in double digits.
  • The Yanks only stole 3 bases.
  • Robinson Cano actually hit a respectable .294.
  • I saw 23 hitters and 21 pitchers for a season total of 44 different players wearing the pinstripes.

Check out the stats, they’re actually pretty cool, and let me know if there are any other good observations.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

